The Difference Between Reingest & Revalidate
When ingesting and mapping an income file, you will see buttons to either Reingest or Revalidate the income file. Both of these buttons are available on the income file ingestion page. These two functions can accomplish many of the same things but actually work very differently. Below, we have described the differences between the two and when to use each of them:
The Revalidate button should be used when you want to validate lines that have been marked as invalid. So, if you have ingested an income file and created aliases for any unmapped works, channels, configurations, etc., then you'll want to use the Revalidate button to validate those lines. The Revalidate button will only apply changes to Invalid lines in the sales file. The Revalidate button can also be used to apply manual changes that have been made to any sales lines. Using the Revalidate button will also preserve the Reported status of any sales lines, meaning you can use this to update invalid royalty lines in an income file that is partially reported.
In summary, the Revalidate button will:
- revalidate just the invalid lines. Valid lines will not be adjusted.
- update the (in)valid status of royalty lines that have been manually adjusted.
- not be affected by changes to the Template since the income file was originally ingested.
- not be affected by calculations that are based on mapped values. If your template has calculations that rely on how values are mapped via the Mapping Manager, then reingesting the sales file is required for those calculations to be triggered after mapping.
- preserve the reported status of any reported royalty lines, so can be used to resolve invalid lines in a Partially Reported income file.
Upon ingestion of the sales file, the sales file is interpreted by the template that has been assigned to it and the different fields, mappings, and calculations are applied to the data. Any changes that are made to the template after a sales file is ingested can only be applied by reingesting the sales file. So, if you change any mappings or calculations already stored in the template and you'd like to update these for every line in the sales file, you will need to use the Reingest button. This will change the Reported status of all sales lines to Unreported and undo any manual changes made to the sales lines. In essence, hitting the Reingest button will reprocess the sales file from scratch.
In summary, the Reingest button will:
- reingest the entire income file from scratch, and therefore affect both valid and invalid lines.
- undo any manual changes that were made to the royalty lines.
- be affected by changes to the Template since the income file was originally ingested.
- be affected by calculations that are based on mapped values.
- reset the reported status of any reported royalty lines, so should not be used to resolve invalid lines in a Partially Reported income file.